Board / Assembly

General Assembly

The General Assembly is the highest body of the association. At least once a year, the almost 100 active members come together for a meeting. The Assembly's main tasks include determining the thematic focus of the association's activities, appointing the honorary board and the members of the Scientific Advisory Board, and elect - ing the Executive Director. The General Assembly also receives the reports of the Foundation's Executive Board and decides on the admission of new members. Care is taken to ensure that at least as many women are considered as men. Currently, the Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung limits its membership base to 100 active members. People who are directly or indirectly employed by the Rosa-Luxem burg-Stiftung are considered passive members. The detailed rights and obligations of the General Assembly are regu- lated in the Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung's statutes. The General Assembly includes active and former politicians of the Left Party, as well as scientists, those active in the regional foundations of the Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung and other individuals representing a democratic socialist current which extends beyond the Left Party.

Executive Board

The Executive Board of the Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung is elected by the General Assembly for a term of four years and consists of the chairperson, two vice chairpersons, the Executive Director, and at least seven – but not more than nine – other members. Currently the Board consists of 12 members. The Executive Board of the Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung is a volun- tary body. Only the Executive Director is employed on a full-time basis. A balanced gender ratio is also observed when selecting the members of the Board. The Executive Board's main task is to manage the affairs of the association and to determine the basic course of the Foundation's work. In this sense, the Executive Board decides on the fundamental structure of the Foundation and the cornerstones of its financial and personnel development. Members of executive boards of political parties at a federal or state level may not sit on the Executive Board of the Rosa-Lux- emburg-Stiftung. For the current structure of the Executive Board please consult the Foundation's website.

Chair of the Executive Board: DR. DAGMAR ENKELMANN Member of the German Parliament Deputy: THOMAS HÄNDEL Member of the European Parliament Deputy: DR. SABINE REINER Executive Director: DR. FLORIAN WEIS

Scientific Advisory Board

This honorary advisory committee of the Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung was established by a resolution of the General Assembly in 2008. The Scientific Advisory Board consists of at least six, and a maximum of sixteen members (As of March 2013: eight women and eight men). Association membership is not a condition for participating in the Scientific Advisory Board. In the same way as the Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung's Executive Board, Advisory Board members are elected for a term of four years. The Scientific Advisory Board supports the work of the Foundation concerning aspects of a scientific and strategic nature. The Advisory Board members elect one of their number as chair.

Head of the Scientific Advisory Board: PROF. DR. IRENE DÖLLING

Council Of Regional Foundations

The 16 autonomous regional foundations are all members of the Council of Regional Foundations. Together with the Rosa-Luxem- burg-Stiftung, they organize educational programmes and net - working in all federal states. Similarly to the head of the Scien- tific Advisory Board, the spokesperson of the Council of Regional Foundations attends the meetings of the Foundation's Executive Board in an advisory capacity. More information is available on the website.

Spokesperson of the Council of Regional Foundations: DR. DETLEF NAKATH Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung, Brandenburg Deputy: ULRIKE DETJEN Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung, North Rhine-Westphalia