News | Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung (en) Call for Proposals for the Hans and Lea Grundig Prize 2017

Award for artistic and art historical achievement, as well as for achievement in the communication of art. Applications until 31.3.2017.

Lea and Hans Grundig, 1928

A diasporist lives and paints in two or more societies at once. Diasporic art is contradictory at its heart, being both internationalist and particularist. It can be inconsistent, which is a major blasphemy against the logic of much art education, because life in Diaspora is often inconsistent and tense; schismatic contradiction animates each day.

R.B. Kitaj’s «Diasporist Manifesto», 1988

A prize named in commemoration of the artists Hans Grundig (1901–1958) and Lea Grundig (1906–1977), under the patronage of the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation will be awarded for artistic and art historical achievement, as well as for achievement in the communication of art.

The category Artistic Projects welcomes completed and already exhibited contemporary contributions that reflect on R.B. Kitaj’s diasporist philosophy:   contradiction, resistance, migration, flight, and exile – ever more people live in different societies concurrently and venture art that in its radicalness is political.

The category Art Historical Works welcomes research that focuses on the analysis and exploration of the diasporic in the work of artists who have personally experienced persecution and enforced exile. Especially welcome are contributions on the themes “Proletarian Revolutionary Art”, “Verism in the 20th century”, “Exile Art in Palestine/Israel”, as well as “Jewish Artists in Divided Postwar Germany”.

The category Communication of Art welcomes submissions addressing curatorial projects that have promoted, and continue to promote the communication of research and works concerned with socio-critical art practices of the 20th  and 21st  century.

This prize has been granted biannually since 2015. The award consists of 10,000 Euros in total, which may be bestowed in all three of the aforementioned areas. The jury will reserve its right to decide on how the prize money should be distributed. Only already completed or published works will be considered for the prize.

Works by domestic and foreign candidates should be submitted in German or English for pre-selection in digital form by 31st March 2017 to this email address:

Please upload data of OVER 3 MB and send us a link for downloading.

Any recourse to courts of law is excluded.

The jury will announce its decision in October 2017.

The Jury

Members of the jury are: Dr. Eva Atlan (art historian, Director of the Art and Judaica Collection of the Jewish Museum, Frankfurt am Main), Dr. Thomas Flierl (historian of architecture, freelance author and publicist, Berlin), Dr. Eckhart Gillen (freelance art historian and curator, Berlin), Henning Heine (Media Assistant to the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation, Berlin), Prof. Ladislav Minarik (Liaison Lecturer of the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation, Düsseldorf), Dr. habil. Rosa von der Schulenburg (art historian and Head of the Fine Art Collection of the Academy of Arts, Berlin), Dr. habil. Angelika Timm (analyst for Middle Eastern affairs, Liaison Lecturer of the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation, Berlin), Tanya Ury (artist/author, Cologne) Prof. Dr. Ines Weizman (theorist and historian of architecture, Professor, Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, prize winner 2015).

Co-ordination: Oliver Sukrow (art historian, Assistant Professor, TU Wien, Austria).

  Read this call for proposals in German.

More on Hans and Lea Grundig on the Website

Henning Heine
(030) 44310-130