Nachricht | Economic / Social Policy - Socio-ecological Transformation - Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung (en) The 2023 Jörg Huffschmid Award

Award for outstanding new work in the field of political economy

Jörg Huffschmid

The Jörg Huffschmid Award was created in memory of an economist whose knowledge and social commitment are particularly sorely missed in the current world situation. In 2023, the award, which is awarded for outstanding work in the field of political economy, will be awarded for the seventh time. It is intended to encourage young scholars in particular to conduct critical research in the spirit of the work of this pioneering economist.

Jörg Huffschmid, who passed away in December 2009 at the age of 69, combined astute analyses with a critique of capitalism and political prudence in his work. As one of the founders of the Arbeitsgruppe Alternative Wirtschaftspolitik, the EuroMemo Group, and a member of the academic advisory board of Attac and the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation, his personal, political, and scholarly life pursued a socially just society, challenging the supposed absence of alternatives suggested by mainstream economics. Accordingly, the four organizations have issued the award together since 2011.

The prize is open to graduating theses at the PhD, Magister, Master’s, and Diploma levels. Doctoral theses will be awarded with a prize of 1,500 euro, others with 500 euro. The theses should deal with topics from the broad field of political economy, including:

  • New imperialism and new wars, militarization, the armaments and war economy
  • Consequences of the global climate crisis and problems posed by the socio-ecological transformation
  • Political economy of border regimes and migration movements
  • Health as a public good, consequences of the global COVID-19 pandemic
  • Labour relations in transnational production networks
  • Precarization of everyday life
  • International financial markets between speculative bubbles and regulation
  • Economic policy alternatives to austerity and privatization
  • Political economy of digitalization and platform capitalism
  • Issues and approaches of feminist economics and the care economy
  • Problems of European integration and the “strategic autonomy” of the EU
  • Monetary policy between asset price bubbles, currency competition, and new debt crises
  • Critical analyses of fiscal, trade, and industrial policy


Theses are strongly encouraged that apply an approach combining different disciplines, integrating economics with approaches from social, political, and cultural sciences.

We will consider submissions that have been accepted by a European institution of higher education since April 2021 in German or English. Submissions by employees of one of the four organizations and members of the respective academic councils will not be considered

Applications are only accepted in electronic form, to be sent before or at the very latest on 1 February 2023 to the following address:

Please attach the following:

  • Cover letter
  • 800-word abstract demonstrating a link to the scholarly work of Jörg Huffschmid
  • The work itself
  • CV
  • Academic references provided as part of the graduation process (assessment by supervisors, examiners, etc.)


Heide Gerstenberger, University of Bremen

Arno Gottschalk, Arbeitsgruppe Alternative Wirtschaftspolitik, member of the Bremen City Parliament

Laura Horn, University of Roskilde

Anne Huffschmid, Free University Berlin

Jeremy Leaman, EuroMemo Group, Loughborough University

Birgit Mahnkopf, Berlin School of Economics and Law, Institute for International Political Economy Berlin

Rainer Rilling, Rosa Luxemburg Foundation fellow

Thomas Sablowski, Rosa Luxemburg Foundation

Mechthild Schrooten, Arbeitsgruppe Alternative Wirtschaftspolitik, City University of Applied Sciences Bremen

The awards ceremony is planned for July 2023 in Frankfurt am Main, Germany.

For more information, contact