About Connecting Resistances

More about the Focus page on emancipatory activism in West Asia, North Africa and Germany

Ten Years of Revolution and Movement in West Asia and North Africa

2020–21 marks ten years since the emergence of a wave of revolutions in West Asia and North Africa (WANA). But even before that, there were movements and protests for participation and social justice that did not necessarily make it into the Western media, such as the strikes and Kifaya movement in Egypt.

Connecting resistance movements has long been an important task for the Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung. With the present texts, we wanted to focus on the experiences of activists, researchers, and artists, especially their perspectives on the struggles of recent years and beyond.

With our partner NAWARA, we are implementing creative educational programmes that approach this revolutionary decade as “a time of movement”, rather than framing it in terms of its “success” or “failure”.

Most of the present texts have emerged from NAWARA’s discussion events, called “salons”. The intense and moving conversations illustrated the extent to which the private is political, and how some issues are commonly left out of political debates altogether, even though many share these experiences. For example: How can we engage in a revolutionary context without giving up on our personal safety and becoming ill? And what forms of care and healing are necessary in times of revolutionary upheaval?

As many of the participants are in exile—largely due to the increasing repression in their home countries—questions around the role of activists in the diaspora were another important focus: What role can activists in exile play? How can they support the struggles in the region? And how can they deal with feelings of powerlessness? What forms can solidarity take, and what kind of new ideological frameworks are necessary to build effective structures of solidarity?

Time and again, the discussions addressed the role of German and European policies and interests, and how they negatively impact the emancipatory movements in the region. The narrative of European governments is about supporting democracy in the region. However, often in the name of realpolitik, governments turn their back on democratic aspirations. Therefore, the question here is also: What forms of solidarity are needed, especially from civil societies in the Global North?

This page aims to initiate and support current debates around the themes of revolution and solidarity.
 

To focus page

«Connecting Resistances 2018»

The conference “Connecting Resistances – Emancipatory Activism in West Asia, North Africa and Germany” in late September 2018 was organized by the Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung and Alsharq e.V.

Contact

Role Details
Tanja Tabbara
Email: tanja.tabbara@rosalux.org
Unit Head, West Asia; Senior Advisor Palestine and LebanonDr. Katja Hermann
Email: katja.hermann@rosalux.org
Phone: +49 30 44310485
Room: 436

Über: Widerstandsbewegungen vernetzen

Mehr zur Schwerpunktseite zu Aktivismus in Westasien und Nordafrika und neuen Formen internationaler Solidarität

Zehn Jahre Revolution und Bewegung in Westasien und Nordafrika

Die Revolutionen in Westasien und Nordafrika (WANA) begannen vor 10 Jahren, in 2020/21. Aber auch davor gab es Bewegungen und Proteste für mehr Teilhabe und soziale Gerechtigkeit, die es aber nicht unbedingt in die westlichen Medien schafften, wie zum Beispiel die Streikbewegung oder Kifaya in Ägypten.

Widerstandbewegungen zu vernetzen bleibt eine wichtige Aufgabe der RLS. Mit den aktuellen Texten wollen wir die Erfahrungen von Aktivist*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und Künstler*innen und ihre Sicht auf die Kämpfe der letzten Jahre und darüber hinaus in den Blick nehmen.

Mit unserem Partner NAWARA setzen wir kreative Bildungsformate um, die die Revolutionsdekade als «eine Zeit in Bewegung» begreifen, anstatt sie unter dem Aspekt «Erfolg» oder «Scheitern» einzuordnen.

Die meisten der vorliegenden Texte sind aus diesen Diskussionsveranstaltungen, genannt «Salons», hervorgegangen. Die sehr intensiven und berührenden Gespräche verdeutlichten, wie sehr das Private politisch ist und wie einige Themen gemeinhin ganz aus den politischen Fragestellungen ausgeblendet werden, obwohl sie die Erfahrungen vieler sind. Zum Beispiel: Wie können wir uns in einem revolutionären Kontext engagieren ohne uns dabei persönlich aufzugeben und krank zu werden? Und welche Form von Fürsorge und Heilung sind notwendig in Zeiten revolutionärer Umbrüche?

Da viele der Teilnehmer*innen sich nicht zuletzt aufgrund der zunehmenden Repressionen in ihren Ländern im Exil befinden, waren Fragen rund um die Rolle von Aktivist*innen in der Diaspora ein weiterer wichtiger Schwerpunkt: Welche Rolle können Aktivist*innen im Exil spielen, wie können sie die Kämpfe in der Region unterstützen und wie mit dem Gefühl der Ohnmacht umgehen? Wie kann Solidarität aussehen und welchen neuen ideologischen Rahmen braucht es um wirkungsvolle Solidaritätsstrukturen aufzubauen?

Immer wieder geht es bei den Diskussionen auch um die Rolle deutscher und europäischer Politiken und Interessen und wie sich diese negativ auf die emanzipatorischen Bewegungen in der Region auswirken. Statt Demokratie werden durch Realpolitik autoritäre Regierungen unterstützt. Daher auch hier die Frage: Welche Form von Solidarität braucht es, insbesondere von Seiten der Zivilgesellschaften im globalen Norden?

Diese Seite will aktuelle Debatten rund um das Thema Revolution und Solidarität anstoßen und unterstützen.
 

Zum Schwerpunkt

«Widerstandsbewegungen vernetzen 2018»

Drei Tage lang diskutieren, austauschen und Widerstände vernetzen, gegen Autoritarismus hier und dort: 50 Aktivist*innen, Journalist*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen nahmen teil an der Konferenz «Connecting Resistances - Emancipatory Activism in West Asia, North Africa and Germany» Ende September 2018, um sich über lokale Kämpfe auszutauschen und an neuen Strategien trans- und internationaler Solidarität zu arbeiten.

Organisiert wurde sie von der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung und ALSHARQ e.V.

Kontakt

Rolle Persondetails
Leiterin Referat Afrika, Referentin für Nordafrika und Wissenschaftskooperationen Tanja Tabbara
E-Mail: tanja.tabbara@rosalux.org
Telefon: +49 30 44310521
Raum: 456
Leiterin Referat Westasien / Referentin für Palästina und IsraelDr. Katja Hermann
E-Mail: katja.hermann@rosalux.org
Telefon: +49 30 44310485
Raum: 436